Nurturing Leaders. Changing Lives.

Language Selection: English

Black College Fund Council of Presidents

The fund supports the 11 historically black colleges and universities related to the church — the largest number of black colleges and universities backed by any church body in the United States. The presidents of these institutions make up the Black College Fund Council of Presidents. Scroll below to find their names and contact information for their offices. 

Bennett College

Suzanne Walsh

President

900 East Washington Street
Greensboro, NC 27401
(336) 517-2225
email: suzanne.walsh@bennett.edu

Assistant: Elizabeth Hartwig
presassistant@bennett.edu

Bethune-Cookman University

William Berry

Acting President

640 Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Boulevard
Daytona Beach, FL 32114
(386) 481-2001

Assistant: Fanita Kirkland Lewis
kirklandf@cookman.edu

Claflin University

Dwaun J. Warmack

President

400 Magnolia Street
Orangeburg, SC 29115
(803) 535-5412
email: dwarmack@claflin.edu

Vice President and Chief of Staff:
Dr. Cletra Peters
cpeters@claflin.edu

Senior Administrative Assistant:
Kerri S. Walker
kwalker@claflin.edu

Clark Atlanta University

George T. French Jr.

President

223 James P. Brawley Drive SW
Atlanta, GA 30314
(404) 880-8500
email: caupresident@cau.edu

Sr. Executive Assistant:
Toni L. Fannin
tfannin@cau.edu

Dillard University

Rochelle L. Ford

President

2601 Gentilly Boulevard
Rosenwald Hall 
New Orleans, LA 70122
(504) 816-4640
email: rford@dillard.edu

Assistant: Chelsea Dureseaux
cdureseaux@dillard.edu

Huston-Tillotson University

Melva K. Wallace

President/CEO

900 Chicon Street
Austin, TX 78702-2795
(512) 505-3002
email: mkwallace@htu.edu

Executive Associate:
Kenneth R. Crawford, Jr., Ph.D.
krcrawford@htu.edu

Meharry Medical College

James E. K. Hildreth

President/CEO

1005 Dr. D. B. Todd, Jr. Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37208
(615) 327-6904
email: jhildreth@mmc.edu

Assistant: Kimberly Stevenson
kstevenson@mmc.edu

Paine College

Cheryl Evans Jones

President

1235 Fifteenth Street
Augusta, GA 30901-3182
(706) 821-8339
email: cevansjones@paine.edu

Coordinator: Frances Wimberly
fwimberly@paine.edu

Philander Smith University

Cynthia Bond Hopson
President (Interim) 

900 Daisy Bates Drive
Little Rock, AR 72202
(501) 370-5314
email: chopson@philander.edu

Assistant: Anita Hatley
ahatley@philander.edu

Rust College

Robert M. Dixon

President (Interim)

150 Rust Avenue
Holly Springs, MS 38635
(662) 252-4016
 
President’s Office Manager:
Willa Terry
wterry@rustcollege.onmicrosoft.com

Wiley College

Herman J. Felton, Jr.

President 

711 Wiley Avenue
Marshall, TX 75670
(903) 927-3201
email: hfelton@wileyc.edu

Assistant: Cassandra Johnson
cmjohnson@wileyc.edu

Discover More

Find a School

Find a United Methodist-related college or university to begin your journey and to discover, claim and flourish in your leadership calling.

Publishing

GBHEM publishes books to serve church leaders throughout their intellectual journey. Learn more about these resources in our publications catalog.

small children posing for the camera

GBHEM works with the International Association of Methodist-related Schools, Colleges and Universities (IAMSCU) to increase educational opportunities across the globe.

In the U.S., GBHEM partners with the National Association of Schools and Colleges of The United Methodist Church (NASCUMC) to expand access to higher education.

Student discussion

Learn about grant funding offered for theological education and pastoral formation in all the Central Conferences in Africa, Europe and the Philippines.

Need help?
WesBot

Hello!
How may I be of service?

I'm searching for something

I have a question