Main menu

2018 Cutting-Edge Curriculum Award

Cutting-Edge Curriculum is an annual award program that recognizes faculty members at United Methodist-related colleges and universities who create new and exciting ways to engage young people in the classroom.

Launched the 2017-2018 academic year, the award focuses on a select topic each year to target faculty members in different areas. In this inaugural year, the award will spotlight faculty who create and lead courses geared towards students’ first-year experience. GBHEM seeks to promote these unique courses, their impact on institutional health, and the dedicated faculty members within the United Methodist connection.

The awards are open to both full-time and part-time faculty at United Methodist institutions. Ten faculty winners will be selected each year – two faculty members will receive a $4,000 award and eight faculty members will receive a $1,500 award.

Applications are judged based on the uniqueness of the course topic, structure, alignment between outcomes and course syllabus and the impact expressed in various student testimonials.

The application deadline for 2017-2018 is February 23, 2018. The ten winners will be notified by April 23, 2018.

For additional information, questions or application submissions, contact the Division of Higher Education at  

Cutting-Edge Curriculum Application and Checklist

Cutting-Edge Curriculum FAQs


Exemplary Teacher of the Year Award

This award recognizes faculty who have been nominated by their institution's leaders for exceptional service to the school and excellence in education. Learning and sharing news about the exciting work faculty within the United Methodist network are doing every day is a privilege for GBHEM. We encourage all of our institution leaders to submit a nomination letter for the most deserving faculty member at their school.

Faculty members nominated for Exemplary Teacher of the Year will receive their award during the spring semester only. All nominations must be submitted to no later than April 15 each year. Nominations must include the recipient's name, title, and a brief explanation for the nomination. Awards will be mailed out on the 1st of each month during the spring semester beginning February 1 and ending on May 1.

For additional information or questions contact the Division of Higher Education at  

NOTE: The Exemplary Teacher Award and The Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award were consolidated into the Exemplary Teacher of the Year Award starting in the 2017-18 academic year.

Need More Information?

Connect with us via email or phone for any questions or concerns you might have. A full listing of staff is also available.

English French German Korean Portuguese Russian Spanish Swahili