Nurturing Leaders. Changing Lives.

pair of worn boots
Lead on. We're with you.

For those who’ve heard God’s call to leadership, we’re here to make the journey with you, connecting you with what you need to flourish as difference-makers. That’s our commitment as the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry. GBHEM.

Main menu

Commission on the Central Conference Theological Education Fund

The Central Conference Theological Education Commission awards grants annually to theological institutions, Boards of Ordained Ministry and organizations integrally related to the formation and education of United Methodist pastoral leaders. The Central Conferences include Africa, Europe, and the Philippines. General Conference 2016 approved $10 million for the fund from the World Service Apportionment Fund. 

Applicants can request grants in the categories approved by General Conference, which are:

  • Development of theological schools
  • Development of Courses of Study
  • Development of libraries and contextually developed resources
  • Scholarships and faculty development
  • Support for associations and networks of faculty and schools
  • Support for new and innovative approaches to theological education.

Learn more about who is eligible to apply and the application process here:

CCTEF Application Process

2017-2020 Membership of the Central Conference Theological Education Commission

Africa Central Conference

  • Rev. Moises Bernardo Jungo
  • Rev. Alcides Jacinto Arez Martins
  • Bishop Joaquina Filipe Nhanala
  • Rev. Tsitsi Madziyire Chigwizura

Congo Central Conference

  • Bishop Daniel Lunge Onashuyaka
  • Rev. Rde Katchiko Furaha Esther
  • Rev. Clement Chijka Kongolo
  • Rev. Mbumba Kaiva Faustin

Europe Central Conferences

  • Bishop Patrick Streiff
  • Rev. Dr. Sergei Nikolaev
  • Rev. Irene Kraft
  • Rev. Thomas Risager

Phillipines Central Conference

  • Bishop Peter Torio
  • Rev. Roberto Ladia
  • Rev. Connie Mella
  • TBD

West Africa Central Conference

  • Dr. Yed Angoran
  • Rev. Yatta Young
  • Rev. John Pena Auta
  • Bishop John K. Yambasu

General Board of Global Ministries    

  • Bishop Sudarshana Devadhar
  • TBD

General Board of Higher Education and Ministry

  • Dr. Douglass Lewis
  • Dr. Amos Nascimento


  • Rev. Greg Bergquist
  • Rev. Shannon Conklin-Miller